Today we were up early as the rain woke us as it hit the roof above. We were up before the alarm and getting ready for a long day. We were going into the city to apply for Landon´s Argentinean ID, with this he can apply for a passport or stay for longer here without all the hassle I have of extending his visa.
The car journey took about 30 minutes and we pulled up outside the civil registry office. We arrived at 8am and still the queue was out the door. The baby pass got me inside while Florencia stood in the queue. Inside was mayhem, nothing that resembled any order.
There were 4 rows with about 20 chairs leaving over 50 more standing and the office was roughly the size of a toilet and it even came with an annoying fly. We tried asking the information lady if we were in the right place and queue but she refused to tell us until we waited our turn to ask. With this I plotted up for a long duration without a lot of optimism.
After 2 more hours it was our turn and it was not too long before we was sent away to get a 45 degree convict style photo for Landon and a birth certificate certified. This is one thing I do not understand, how can your birth certificate run out? Unless there is a death certificate it should still be valid. Anyway it wasn’t too much of a problem because our experience in the Spanish system taught us you never ever have everything you need. However all the places we needed were within a short walk and more importantly open for business with people who want to help you. No wonder Spanish people hate South Americans they have so much more intelligence and don’t begrudge helping anyone.
So back in the office we had another wait for our name to be called. We had our family finger printing done for the forms and we were out of there in 4 hours. Despite the wait, the numb bum with the fly and BO all the people except the info lady were very polite and loved Landon but then who doesn’t.



2 comments:
Correction: Florencia was up before the alarm, you never heard it because i turned it off so it wouldnt wake you up :)
This is true of course, I stand corrected by my wife :)
Post a Comment